Really Eating

Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Everything

Posted in Grocery Shopping, Ingredients by Bethany on October 22, 2011

I didn’t grow up a huge fan of pumpkin-anything. I never understood (or even noticed) that pumpkins were for more than pie (yuck) and decorations (eh). Maybe it had to do with the fact that I wasn’t a huge fan of the color orange? Who knows.

As I’ve been growing and adjusting more and more to the idea of eating seasonally, I was strangely intrigued by one of the pumpkin products in the Trader Joe’s “Fearless Flyer” we get in the mail–super premium pumpkin ice cream (what can I say, I love ice cream).

Quick background: I have somewhat of a love/hate relationship with Trader Joe’s, mainly because I find myself annoyed at how quickly I can spend money on things that aren’t *necessary*. Ex: sparkling pink lemonade. Water would be just fine, but I can’t resist their sparkling lemonade! Does anyone agree with this sentiment?? I do find myself buying some actual ingredients there from time to time (mushrooms are typically cheaper than any other grocery store), but a lot of times I feel underwhelmed. For example, bread I buy at TJ’s often molds more quickly than I would expect (even more quickly than the expiration tags dictate). Another example, a lot of their products aren’t that much better for you than those at a conventional grocery store (when it comes to meat/produce/etc).

That being said, I LOVE their ready-made salads as lunch alternatives to eating out at work when I don’t have leftovers to eat. I am constantly tempted to buy their chicken tikka masala frozen entree (it is SO. GOOD. I think the free sample lady sold me on this one too…). I am also constantly amazed by all the unique things they can cover in chocolate–soy nuts/sesame seeds/potato chips/______(fill in anything here)… and you get the picture.

Anyway, in true Trader Joe’s fashion, I was lured in to buy super premium pumpkin ice cream ($3.99, d-e-licious) and then the free sample lady sold me on pumpkin bread/muffin mix (I swore off cake mixes but couldn’t… resist… the… pumpkin… bread…). BTW: the pumpkin bread is delicious. I bought some canned pumpkin the other day at Albertsons and am committed to using it to bake something or other before the season’s out. I have yet to actually buy a pumpkin and do anything with it (big. orange. scary.), but so far, my taste buds are telling me that they like pumpkin flavored things. More to (hopefully) come!

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

