Really Eating

Rosemary-Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Posted in Recipes by Bethany on October 21, 2011

This was my first experience with pork tenderloin. I had always seen it in the grocery store and mentioned here and there in recipes, but I finally made the leap! I caught it on sale for $3.99/lb and dug through old recipes to figure out what to do with it.

Most of the pork tenderloin recipes I see mention that they’re ~1.5 lb and I was surprised to see that the package I bought weighed in at ~3lb! I then proceeded to double the recipe ingredients, only to find later that when I actually opened up the tenderloin, there were two in my package! Well, into the freezer the extra went.

Overall pleased with the dish. The cut is very lean, but yet moist. I wish my instant read thermometer was working (ordered a new one today) because I think I slightly overcooked the pork. We didn’t love love love the seasoning so I’m going to look around for an alternative way to cook the second tenderloin now in my freezer.

Other than pseudo-doubling the recipe, I followed the basic guidelines I found in Real Simple.

Rosemary-Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs (I used Pank0)
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary (I assume you can use dried, but use half as much)
  • kosher salt
  • freshly-ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 lb pork tenderloin
  • 1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees

In a large plate (or shallow bowl) combine the first four ingredients and 1/2 teaspoon salt.

Rub the pork with the olive oil, coat with bread crumb mixture, then place on a rimmed baking sheet (I covered mine with foil and lightly oiled it to ease clean-up).

Roast til cooked through, approximately 20-30 minutes. If my thermometer was working, I would have pulled it out at 145 degrees (so should you!).

Let rest 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

