Really Eating

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

Posted in Recipes by Bethany on April 6, 2011

Cauliflower is one of the vegetables I never liked. I was often faced with cauliflower at Yoshinoya where it’d sit next to my broccoli, tasteless and utterly unappetizing. I’m not sure why it is so often boiled or steamed beyond recognition, but I recently convinced myself to buy some at the farmers market and am happy I did.

One of my cookbooks (I think it was Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, which is one of THE BEST cookbooks out there… it’s been called “The Joy of Cooking” for our generation) … totally forgot where I was going with that. Oh yes. Cauliflower. From what I remember, Bittman recommends buying cauliflower wrapped in plastic without any brown spots visible on the pretty white florets, and with the green leaves tight around it. I found some that fit the bill at came home to look for a recipe.

I wanted to try something that would make it yummy, but allow the real flavors of cauliflower to come through, and this Smitten Kitchen adapted recipe by Joy the Baker did just that.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2  pound cauliflower florets
  • 2 tablespoons capers, coarsely chopped (I drained mine first to lighten the taste)
  • 3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Directions

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 400 degrees F.

In a roasting dish, toss together cauliflower with capers, garlic, oil and about 1/8 teaspoon salt.  Top with butter cubes and red pepper flakes.

Roast, stirring occasionally, until browned and delicious, about 15-20 minutes.  Remove from oven and toss hot cauliflower with lemon and fresh parsley.

Enjoy immediately with crusty bread to sop up the butter juices.

Leave a Reply

