Really Eating

Two Tools

Posted in Equipment by Bethany on April 5, 2011

I have yet to put my Lodge skillet or can openers to use, but I realized that sometimes I buy equipment knowing I want to use it, but not actually using it until much later.

Case in point: instant thermometer. I bought this back in the summer of 2009, but I don’t think I really ever used it until a few months ago. Some of the more precise blogs/recipes will give you actual temperatures to aim for when cooking/baking and I’m starting to realize that it’s way easier than accidentally under/over cooking something and trying to fix it later.

Here’s the one I have:

I probably wouldn’t recommend it because I’ve had a couple issues with it, like the reviewers on Amazon. Pick one of the many other cheaper options and voila! Perfectly cooked meat.

The other handy-dandy tool I have is my Microplane zester.

Every blogger/cook/writer had it in their list of top kitchen tools so I felt obligated to buy it when I started getting more serious about my baking and cooking. It comes in handy when a recipe requires lemon zest or dealing with ginger. I don’t use it too often, but it’s a good friend to have. Unlike the thermometer, I think Microplane is THE brand for this type of tool- so make sure to save yourself the heartache and buy the right brand.

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

