Really Eating

Pioneer Woman Spicy Lemon Garlic Shrimp

Posted in Recipes by Bethany on April 4, 2011

I don’t really love shrimp. I didn’t like it growing up because, like lobster and crab, shrimp reminded me of animals swimming in the ocean… and the Little Mermaid. And seriously- how can you eat seafood while thinking about the Little Mermaid?! If you’re not following, maybe this scene will refresh your memory:

Much to my surprise, I discovered I didn’t HATE shrimp when I tried delicious huge tiger prawns at Pomelo on Judah (a great little spot, by the way!). I’ve been more open to eating shrimp or nibbling on it here and there, but don’t cook it very often.  However, I realized that while chicken is great, sometimes a little variety would be good for our dinners, and this PW recipe seemed like a can’t-miss. Garlic, butter, lemon, parsley… how can that go wrong?? And no, this is not a “Recipe Fail” post :)

It was super easy to prepare, with ingredients I had on hand… definitely make sure you have freshly baked (or warmed) bread to go with it.

Recipe here: Spicy Lemon Garlic Shrimp

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds Raw Shrimp, Deveined, Shells On
  • 2 sticks Cold Unsalted Butter Cut Into Pieces
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 4 cloves Garlic, Peeled
  • ¼ cups Fresh Parsley (no chopping necessary- that’s what a food processor is for!)
  • ½ teaspoons Crushed Red Pepper
  • 1 whole Lemon, Juiced

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Rinse frozen shrimp to separate, then arrange in a single layer on a baking sheet. I usually line my baking sheets with foil to minimize the mess, and it worked fine.

In the bowl of a food processor, add cold butter, garlic, lemon juice, salt, parsley, and red pepper. Pulse until combined. Sprinkle cold butter crumbles over the shrimp.

Bake until shrimp is opaque and butter is hot and bubbly.

Serve with hot crusty bread. Peel and eat the shrimp, then dip the bread into the butter in the bottom of the pan.

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jen said, on December 31, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    The Spicy Lemon Garlic Shrimp recipe is amazing ! I watched you making it for your girlfriends reunion the other day and my husband and I tried it this evening for a New Year’s Eve dinner , it was absolutely the best ! Thanks so much for the recipe ! Jen


Leave a Reply

