Really Eating

Pioneer Woman Asparagus

Posted in Grocery Shopping, Ingredients, Recipes by Bethany on February 2, 2011

This is a quick, simple post to accompany an equally simple recipe.

Asparagus is technically a spring vegetable, but since we live in the great desert of Southern California, it’s available much more often. At the farmers market I believe they were $2.50-$3 per bundle and generally thinner (although they may thicken as the spring comes). At the conventional grocery store, I only buy asparagus when it’s on sale, even though it is imported from Mexico. This week it was $1.49/lb (the lowest I’ve seen it) and it’s $1.99/lb every so often. Since we’re always trying to frugal and I do my best to keep track of prices and sales, I thought it’d be helpful to include those prices and will do my best to continue to do so when appropriate!

I actually haven’t cooked asparagus any other way than the way below. I think it’s super easy and quick (minus the preheating oven time). I give myself bonus points for the days when I’m already baking something in the oven and I can multi-task-bake.

Original recipe & pictures here: Pioneer Woman Oven-Baked Asparagus

Ingredients

  • 1-2 bunches Asparagus
  • 4 Tablespoons (up To 5 Tablespoons) Olive Oil
  • Kosher Salt To Taste
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper, To Taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Wash asparagus thoroughly, then snap off the ends. Ree (PW) cuts them, but I kind of enjoy the snapping. A lot of people have opinions and theories on this… but whatever. Do whatever you’d like!

Spread out the asparagus in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet. Pat it as dry as you can, as you don’t want any water to “steam” the asparagus in the oven. I’ve actually put more than one layers worth of asparagus and it turned out fine.

Begin by generously drizzling olive oil all over the asparagus and then sprinkle the asparagus generously with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. It’s better to be cautious at first because once or twice I’ve put too much and then it ended up being too oily.

Roast the asparagus for about ten minutes. The secret here is for the oven to be very hot so the asparagus can begin to brown on the outside without overcooking and getting too flimsy. You want the finished asparagus to still have a bite to it. Delicious!

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

