Really Eating

Whole Wheat Apple Muffins

Posted in Recipes by Bethany on December 7, 2009

I get urges to bake and cook randomly, usually prompted by recipes I come across in Google Reader. Oftentimes I’ll see an awesome recipe with gorgeous pictures, but rarely do I have all the ingredients on hand. Somehow I stumbled upon to an older Smitten Kitchen recipe where I happened to have all of the ingredients, and I put it #1 on my weekend To Do list.

It seemed like a pretty easy recipe but I made the mistake of not checking on them near the end (as I was prepping for the next recipe… that sadly didn’t get finished) and the muffins ended up being a little overdone. I know, I know I should measure the temperature of the oven and be a better baker in that way, but I still haven’t gotten around to it. Oh well. The muffins were still delicious, just not picture perfect. But seriously- who needs my pictures when we have Deb’s?

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup buttermilk (I let 1 cup milk & 1 tablespoon vinegar sit for a while, it’s all about the substitutions!)
  • 3 medium-sized apples, peeled, cored, and coarsely chopped

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450°F. The recipe says to grease and flour the muffin cups but I didn’t… should I have? I just really don’t like Pam.

Mix together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon, and set aside. Remember my issue with the bowls? Well, use a medium sized bowl for this stuff because it’s mainly the 2 cups of flour.

In a separate (bigger) bowl, cream the butter (it’ll cream much easier when it’s room temperature… I’ve learned that the hard way too) and add the granulated sugar and 1/4 cup of the brown sugar. Beat until fluffy. Add the egg and mix well; stop once to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl. Mix in the buttermilk gently. (If you over-mix, the buttermilk will cause the mixture to curdle.) Stir in the dry ingredients and fold in the apple chunks.

Divide the batter evenly among the prepared muffin cups, sprinkling the remaining 1/4 cup brown sugar on top. I did this kind of messily and regretted it because the brown sugar that landed on my muffin tin ended up all burnt and ugly. Sad. Maybe next time I would have sprinkled brown sugar on the muffin cups before putting them into the tins.

Bake for 10 minutes, turn the heat down to 400°F, and bake for an additional 5 to 10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean. This means, CHECK ON THEM or else risk slightly burnt muffins like mine, and that’s just not cool. Cool (hehe) the muffins for 5 minutes in the tin, then turn them out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

